Paging the Real You


Close up of brown pattern

After a full day being completely stuck, I am happy to report that the spell has been broken.  Thanks to Oprah, Carson Kressley, a little Nate Berkus and today’s make-unders.

And now, a brief commercial break.

I need to take a quick moment to explain why I blab about Oprah ALL THE TIME.  For whatever reason, she helps me get unblocked.  In life, in my career and, now, in my business.  Things like “today is the day” and “live your best life” are constantly running through my mind, especially when I’m in a difficult moment.  She inspires me to aspire to be a better version of myself.

Back to our regular programming…

As it happens, today’s show is all about make-unders.  One of the subjects, Dawn, looks like Pamela Anderson’s sister with her mega hair, mega make-up, mega chest, mega lips and tiny little legs.  When Carson gently asks her what she sees in the mirror, she basically says she doesn’t see herself.

This got me thinking about a conversation I had with one of my nieces, who’s at that tween stage, just becoming aware that she is an individual and has a little power over her identity.  Long story short, we came to the conclusion that she presents herself as two different people – one to her family and one to her friends.

I know she has her reasons, starting with the fact that she’s 13.  And I know I too had my reasons for having what I believed was a dual personality – one for work and one for home.

After seeing Oprah and Carson’s subject, Dawn, I am now convinced that when we can present our real selves in all situations, that’s when we’re truly free.  Instead of asking questions like “does this shirt make me look <insert insult here>?”, we can completely focus on being present.

While I would never suggest that one Fabuliss party or a few pieces of clothing will cure an identity crisis, it can be a catalyst for a new level of self-awareness that I can only hope will inspire a great many things!

Here’s a music mix to help inspire you to have a great time being happy just how you are, a.k.a. Bring It, 2010.

  • Take Me As I Am – Mary J Blige
  • Use the Force – Jamiroquai
  • Strength, Courage & Wisdom – India.Arie
  • I’m Every Woman – Chaka Khan
  • Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen
  • Pick Yourself Up – Diana Krall
  • Independent Women (Part 1) – Destiny’s Child
  • Just Be – DJ Tiesto & Kristy Hawkshaw
  • Over the Rainbow – Jevetta Steele
  • Maniac – Michael Sambello
  • Magic – Robin Thicke
  • Kiss That Girl – Sheryl Crow
  • Beautiful Day – U2
  • Let Go – Frou Frou
  • I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

