Your Style Story…It’s Never Too Early or Too Late


Portrait HistoryWhen I was young, I always wanted to be older.  Kind of like the movie 13 Going on 30, except I never had a specific age, profession or life imagined.  I just thought being older would be better.

But aging, as I now know, is a process.  The same can be said for style.

It was not until the last holiday season – sorting through albums and albums of family photos – that I realized my parents were incredibly stylish (below, left on their wedding day) and my brothers and I were always ridiculously well styled (below, right).

Family Photos

Having my mom make style decisions for me was one thing.  Learning how to make style decisions for myself – in a way that matched my personality – was an entirely different ballgame.

It has been a process, to say the least.  Through high school, I was a trend follower with big-bigger-biggest 80s hair.  In my 20s I went from hot miniskirt ensembles to up-and-coming professional to a black pile of frump.

And then, as if on cue, I stumbled across TLC’s What Not to Wear at 30, which changed EVERYTHING.  When I was focused on making the most of what I had, I started feeling SO much better about myself.

Maybe it’s because I’m nearing the decade when we’re said to finally have ourselves figured out.  Or maybe it’s thanks to all the makeover shows.  Whatever the case, I am at a really happy place and I think it shows!

Are you ready to start developing your style story?  It’s never too early or too late!  Fabuliss can help.  Learn more at Fabuliss.com, where you can sign up to take advantage of specials.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Your Style Story…It’s Never Too Early or Too Late”

  1. teahon Says:

    Oh my goodness, this is adorable! I love the little plaid dress in that picture of you and your brothers. Fun to see the hair evolution in your pictures, too.

  2. Stacie Says:

    AWESOME pics. I love your style story. Keep up the great posts.

  3. fabuliss Says:

    teahon – there are so many pictures to choose from. And the really wild thing is that there are a number of outfits that I remember really liking!

    Stacie – thanks for reading :)

  4. Emily Schroeder Orvik Says:

    Love the progression of photos!

    And thank you for putting words to the whole fashion discovery process. It’s nice to have someone like you as a guide.

    Now wonder why when I put on my favorite denim shirt and khakis – I sort of cringe – while it was a decent look in the late 80s and 90s – it’s old now. Hmmm. . . I think I’m at a style cross road!? It should be fun – but I feel a little apprehensive.

  5. fabuliss Says:

    Emily – you hit on such an important point…style is definitely a process! It’s perfectly OK to try something new. If it works, it works. If you hate it, donate it and move on.

    Enjoy the ride!

Leave a Reply

