6/13 #StyleChat Notes


This week, I hosted #StyleChat on Twitter.  The idea comes from seeing and participating in various subject-specific chats like job hunting.

I was surprised to find that no one was talking specifically about style, other than random comments and conversations…until now!

The first week had a small group of participants, but a healthy conversation.  See below for a summary.

Note: The @ is a unique identifier, like an email address.  It’s called a Twitter handle and for the purposes of these notes, signifies who is talking.  The # is used to signify a keyword that can be easily searched.  And the shorthand is because we are limited to 140 characters per tweet.

— snip —

@Fabuliss

Hello & welcome to #stylechat! If u like style or want to learn more, this is for u. Ready, go!

Q1 What does style mean 2 u? #stylechat

@Fabuliss

Q1 For me, style is a personal, visual expression of who I am. #stylechat

Q1 Style is like a language – it can say “HI, I’m SO excited to be here!!!” or “Ugh, never mind, pretend you didn’t see me.” #stylechat

Q1 Style is also an evolution. We change and that’s OK. So can/should our style. #stylechat

@DailyWhip

Q1 “owning” whatever I’m wearing from pajamas to business suits #stylechat

One time I totally got busted wearing an ugly striped dress at 2:00 AM at Byerlys. I was sure no one would see me. #stylechat

@fabuliss

My motto is to always be prepared when I leave the house. You never know…! #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

Q1 style is an extension of my personality & mood. The fun part is changing it anytime I want! #stylechat

Q2 How has style impacted ur life? #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q2 Being more aware of style has helped me completely chnge my outlook, my goals, my life. Lost 25 lbs, wear more color, <3 life. #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

Q2 when done right it can impact how confident i feel #stylechat

@fabuliss

Confidence is huge! I know when I look good, I feel like a million bucks! #stylechat

Q3 What is ur biggest style challenge? #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q3 I wish I could buy & wear…need to get most things tailored (shortened) #stylechat

Q4 If U could change 1 thing about ur style…? #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q4 1 thing I’d change about my style is to have a better distinction between work and fun. #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

Q4 i’m constantly working on adding colors & patterns. It’s way too easy to fall back on black that’ll go w/ more things. #stylechat

Q4 I wish I felt more confident mixing patterns. I’ve seen some really great pairings, but 2nd guess when I do it. #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q4 I have a lot of solids…love how prints change/break things up #stylechat

Q4 Anthropologie catalog gives me pattern mix & match courage, tho I admit I don’t do it much… #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

oooh, good idea. I’ll have to look at their catalogue more for ideas! #stylechat

Q5 What’s 1 thing women should know 4 successful style? #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q5 Successful style starts with you. Isaac Mizrahi: Be comfortable in your own skin, that’s the first rule. #stylechat

@bethanyg

Q5 Can’t I just answer “all of the above”? :) #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

Q5 how to dress for age appropriateness. Just cuz it comes in your size doesn’t give you license to wear it! #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q5 That’s a great one. Surprised to see so many women my age + shopping in juniors! #stylechat

@k_nikki

Q5 – Know how 2 work WITH, not against, your body shape. Fit’s crucial no matter how cute or stylish the pieces may be. #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q5 Gr8 advice. Sometimes hard to know b/c most imagery doesn’t show how things should fit on regular bodies. #stylechat

@k_nikki

That’s why I rarely shop for clothes online – only use to search. Too much of a gamble…I’m pear-shaped and finally “getting it.”

@bethanyg

Q5 Agreed, I have hourglass shape and nothing seems to fit. #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q5 Style is a process. Every time I learn something new, everything I thought I knew changes…4 better #stylechat

Be patient. I try on A LOT of clothes to find a few that fit. #stylechat

@k_nikki

Agreed! Luckily I have wonderful sources like your blog to guide me along the way :)

@tea_hon

Q5 1) Just b/c it’s on sale doesn’t mean you should settle for bad fit; 2) Price doesn’t always correlate to quality. #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q5 Right on! #stylechat

Q6 What are your style goals? #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q6 a) Make it personal b) buy things I’ll get LOTS of wear out of c) share what I know d) have fun w/it #stylechat

@shopaholicchic

Q6 Well said!

@k_nikki

Q6: Sounds funny, but trying to master dresses for work. I have a hard time finding ones that aren’t too dressy or too casual. #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q6 Figuring out dresses for work…not funny at all! I’ll add it to blog-about-this list :) #stylechat

@k_nikki

Q6 I need help w/accessories & choosing colored shoes. Loved ur blog post w/the different necklaces #stylechat

@fabuliss

Q6 Thanks…great to know what you want/need help with! #stylechat

Next #stylechat scheduled for Tue, 6/22, 8 PM CT. Submit questions, ideas, etc!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

