Summer of (White) Dresses…Options Galore


{ click to enlarge }

Who knew that Summer of Dresses would be gaining such great momentum?!?  The magazine Minnesota Monthly put out a call for ladies in white dresses and of course, I had to submit something!

As you can see, I found a number of options between Von Maur, Macy’s and Nordstrom…some good, some not so good.

Top row, left to right:

  • This is my homemade white dress, made out of separates.  I took a couple of different photos with different accessories.  I’m not sure if I’ll keep the skirt since I think it gives me a little too much volume but I was happy with how the overall outfit came together.
  • I was very surprised to find a white dress with pockets.  Other than that, the proportions are not right on me because it isn’t petite.  Compared to the other dresses, I feel like this dress makes my bust and hips look too big.
  • This Calvin Klein shirtdress, found at Macy’s, is a nice crisp cotton.  One of the things I wanted in searching for this dress was something casual enough I would get enough wear out of.  My only hesitation is that it’s not petite so I would need to get some areas – like the armholes and length – tailored.
  • This dress had really pretty details but it makes me look busty and hippy.  No thanks!

Bottom row, left to right:

  • I love Tahari dresses!  Out of all the dresses I tried at my first stop, this one really spoke to me.  It felt great on and seemed to fit me really well.  It was also something casual enough for every day.  I do think the belt is a little low on my frame and am worried about how bulky the rolled up sleeves are.
  • The black beading around the neck on this dress is GORGEOUS!  It’s a tad tight around my stomach but I could wear some kind of slimmer to suck in just a smidge.  It’s a little more formal than I was thinking, but wow…I love it on my shape and it’s definitely a statement dress.
  • This sleeveless number is a fun, flirty cotton dress that could be dressed up or down.  It fits me overall – especially where the waist is, but I’m not sure it’s the best option compared to the others.

What do you think?  Which option would you choose?

{ Fabuliss helps you discover and express your personal style for camera-ready confidence. }

{ Fabuliss.com, hello@fabuliss.com, text or call 612-554-4629 }

See also: Summer of Dresses

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Summer of (White) Dresses…Options Galore”

  1. tea_hon Says:

    I like the last two–especially the beaded shift. But I think it would look even better if it were a little bit shorter. I think it could be a really versatile piece for you.

Leave a Reply

