Smart Casual for Fall from the Fabuliss Closet Part 1 of 4…Jackets + Skirt + Boots


 

{ click to enlarge }

 

I have been eagerly awaiting Fall since day 2 of this past summer’s heat and humidity in Minneapolis/St. Paul.

Recently, on one of the cooler days, it was time to review what’s in the closet and what will work this season and what is ready to be donated.

Here is the first breakdown of outfits based on the same skirt, boots, shell and necklace paired with three different jackets.

What works:

  • The first two jackets have good shape and structure for my rectangle shape, hinting at a waistline.
  • The color of the first two jackets flow well in terms of color contrast.
  • The low-contrast stitching on the middle jacket makes for a streamlined silhouette.
  • The collars of the first two jackets, combined with a simple necklace and medium-jewel neck on the shell complement my face shape and neck length.
  • The collar of the third jacket works great with my face shape.
  • The dark color of the third jacket, similar to my boots, increases my visual height.

What could be better:

  • A stronger focal point with the first two jackets would help to balance out the dark boots and make me look taller.
  • The strong shoulders of the third jacket are a bit too strong for my shoulders.
  • A dark nylon or tight will help make my legs look longer than showing skin between my skirt and boots.

Summary:

  • I love the first two outfits and will wear them often.
  • The third jacket – a plush chocolate velvet jacket – may go in the donation pile.  It’s gorgeous but overwhelms my frame at the shoulders and does not do my neck any favors.

The base for each outfit is a skirt from Ann Taylor LOFT’s early Fall collection.  It’s a salmony color with brown spots – the closest I’ve gotten to wearing animal print so far!  I paired it with a pair of Donald J Pliner boots from Nordstrom and a dark turquoise shell from Marshall’s.  The coral necklace is from Macy’s.

Do you need the help of an objective, expert opinion in your closet?  Fabuliss can help.  See our packages for information.

{ Fabuliss helps women and men learn how to create and shop for outfits that align with their personal brand.  Color, fit, closets and shopping.  Fabuliss.com or 612-554-4629 }

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

