Winter Recap Part 1: Favorites


Winter Recap Overview

{ click to enlarge }

Spring is coming…I can feel it!  Or maybe it’s because I am counting down the days to Daylight Savings Time.

But before we say “goodbye” for a few months, here are a few favorites from this past winter.  The only thing missing from the outfits above are my suede boots, which you’ll see in a second!

Suede Skirt

Winter Recap: Suede Skirt Outfits

{ click to enlarge }

One of my many favorites is my black suede skirt, which I came across completely by surprise.

I had extra time and saw a consignment shop someone mentioned had amazing finds. In all honesty, I am not a huge consignment shopper but there are phenomenal finds out there!

Let’s take a look at each outfit:

  1. Love this for an every day outfit.  It’s simple, classic and slimming.  And, notice my *favorite* boots that actually fit my curvy calves!
  2. On a day when it’s important to stand out, a red velvety jacket paired with a printed shell is a fantastic way to get noticed.  I also like this outfit as one that can transition from work to happy hour with co-workers.
  3. It’s always nice to have something that can transition to a fun affair after hours.  The high-contrast ruffle shirt paired with a red jacket does just that.
  4. I love horizontal stripe that works with my proportions and style.  This one helps with a casual look when paired with a dressier sweater.
  5. An all-purpose denim jacket pairs great with suede and tones down a bold pattern on a shell.

Tweed Pants

Winter Recap: Tweed Pants Outfits

{ click to enlarge }

These tweed pants are from Talbots, one of my favorite stores.  They are lined, have a great drape and fit and they are an excellent quality.  On top of it, they go with everything in my closet!

  1. A simple shell and cardigan plus a bootie or heeled shoe make for a classic can’t-go-wrong look.
  2. Pairing the feminine ruffled shirt with a masculine denim jacket offsets the frill factor while being work and happy hour appropriate.
  3. The ruffled shirt and red jacket transition easily from the suede skirt to tweed pants.
  4. I have always loved the idea of teal and red and was thrilled to find the shell had a hint of teal.  Pairing the shell with the teal cardigan gives the tradition of plaid a twist of today.
  5. Tone down the bold printed shell and dress it up with a plush corduroy jacket in teal for a look that still pops.

With versatile and harmonious pieces, there are truly endless options.  But before I end this post, a couple of additional comments about winter:

  • To keep warm, I wear camisoles under everything.  A thin cotton camisole that fits close to the body is warmer than a satiny or silky one but regardless, the extra layer is essential in Minnesota.
  • Another trick I use to stay warm is wool socks.  I wear them inside my boots and with my winter heels.  A finer wool knit – which was incredibly difficult to find this year – will still look professional with long pants.

{ Fabuliss helps you earn confidence and respect by teaching you how to communicate with style. Closets, shopping, parties, remote.  Fabuliss.com or 612-554-4629 }

Now accepting Visa, Mastercard & Discover.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Winter Recap Part 1: Favorites”

  1. Kathy Says:

    My favorite fashion find this winter came from the “Big O” herself, Bootights! A tight with a built in sock to wear with boots. Bought at http://www.bootights.com and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

Leave a Reply

